League Apologizes For Replay Call...Offer Regrets...Say Nothing On Another Wrong Call

The Miami Dolphins had more than a few questionable calls on Sunday.  The NFL has apologized for one of them.  The Davone Bess catch that was clearly not a catch on the Dolphins opening drive.  Not the one later that could have been reversed, not the fumble that showed Bess still had his hand on the ball, and of course not the actual replay that should have showed Darren Sharper had fumbled the ball before he got into the endzone on the Dolphins 2nd half opening drive.  Instead, they offer regrets that they couldn’t overturn the completion.

The league cited a power switch on the machine for the reason the ref’s on the field could not get a look at the ball hitting the ground.  The Dolphins didn’t score on the drive and the play had no baring on the final outcome.  The Darren Sharper INT and fumble did.  Now, a photo released by Sports Illustrated clearly shows that the ball was fumbled before Sharper crossed the end line.  What makes the matter worse is the fact that the referee is looking directly at Sharper and the ball as it is falling away.  The league of course has not yet issued a response and it is unlikely that they will.  Surely they will have no regrets about it.

I suppose it’s all water under the bridge now, but in any case, the photo speaks volumes by itself.

Sports Illustrated

Sports Illustrated

Next Dolphins Game Full schedule »
Sunday, Oct 2626 Oct1:00at Jacksonville JaguarsBuy Tickets

comments powered by Disqus