The 17 DBs on the Dolphins' Roster

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

At the start of last season, the Miami Dolphins had nine (9) defensive backs (DBs) on their 53 man roster.  Five (5) were cornerbacks (CBs) — Vontae Davis, Sean Smith, Nolan Carroll, Jimmy Wilson, and Will Allen.  Four (4) were safeties — Reshad Jones, Tyrone Culver, Chris Clemons and Yeremiah Bell.  Did you know that there are currently seventeen (17) DBs on the Dolphins’ Roster?  Seventeen!  This means that seventeen players are fighting for the nine spots on this year’s 53 man roster and two or three spots on the practice squad.

November 28, 2010; Oakland, CA, USA; Miami Dolphins free safety Chris Clemons (30) celebrates after the Dolphins defense stopped the Oakland Raiders on a fourth down attempt in the fourth quarter at Oakland-Alameda County Coliseum. The Dolphins defeated the Raiders 33-17. Mandatory Credit: Cary Edmondson-US PRESSWIRE

Will Allen (CB) and Yeremiah Bell (S) are no longer with the Dolphins.  They have been replaced with veterans Richard Marshall (CB) and Tyrell Johnson (S), who were acquired via free agency.  So, on the surface, it seems that the nine spots on the 53 man roster are pretty much set.  And, the remaining players currently with the team will be fighting to displace someone or making the team on the practice squad.

However, this is not necessarily true.

It has been widely reported that Jimmy Wilson is being moved to safety.  This may create an opening at cornerback on the 53 man roster and a real battle for the four safety spots.

Let’s take a look at the depth chart for the Dolphins’ defensive backfield.  It’ll be broken down by cornerbacks and safeties, although there may be some intermixing between these positions.

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

comments powered by Disqus