Miami Dolphins Are Twitter Champions

June 19, 2012; Davie, FL, USA; Miami Dolphins wide receiver Chad Ochocinco (85) addresses members of the media after minicamp at the Dolphins training facility. Mandatory Credit: Steve Mitchell-US PRESSWIRE

 

If there was a Twitter Super Bowl, the Miami Dolphins would be heavily favored to be the 2012 champions.  The signing of Chad OchoCinco, the Twitter MVP, plays a huge part in that.  The reborn Chad Johnson (@ochocinco) currently has 3,549,908 followers, the most for any NFL player.  Only one other American football player has more than 2 million followers and that is Reggie Bush (@reggie_bush) with 2,488,511.  Dolphin domination!

The San Francisco-based social networking service known as Twitter has been around since July 15, 2006 and generates more than 300 million tweets daily.  Tweets are posts with a limit of 140 characters.  I recently joined the micro-blogging community and an army followed me.  I currently boast nine followers.

After Chad Johnson and Reggie Bush, we have:

Tim Tebow @TimTebow  1,692,861

Michael Vick @MikeVick  1,342,803

Larry Fitzgerald @LarryFitzgerald  1,294,132

Terrell Owens @terrellowens  1,234,079

Drew Brees @drewbrees  1,185,455

We’ll give Owens the benefit of the doubt.  As far as current Miami Dolphins, this is what we have after the big two.

3. Vontae Davis @VontaeDavis21  125,715

4. Tony McDaniel @TonyMcDaniel  107,613

5. Mike Pouncey @MikePouncey  105,531

6. Nolan Carroll @CarrollCity  60,320

7. Reshad Jones @reshadjones9  41,037

8. Steve Slaton @Steve23Slaton  36,272

9. David Garrard @davidgarrard9  32,854

10. Ryan Tannehill @ryantannehill1  25,748

11. Brian Hartline @brianhartline  25,071

12. Davone Bess @davonebess  21,605

13. Sean Smith @SeanSMITH24  21,073

14. Gary Guyton @GaryGuyton59  20,154

Dan Marino (@DanMarino) has 77,245 followers while Jason Taylor (@JasonTaylor) has 21,900.  Roger Goodell (@nflcommish) has a legion of 276,388.

Follow PhinPhanatic on Twitter, Like Us on Facebook, and Hit That Google+1 Button!

Follow me on Twitter @RiSantamaria

 

 

Topics: Chad Johnson, Chad Ochocinco, Drew Brees, Larry Fitzgerald, Miami Dolphins, Michael Vick, Reggie Bush, Terrell Owens, Tim Tebow, Twitter

Want more from Phin Phanatic?  
Subscribe to FanSided Daily for your morning fix. Enter your email and stay in the know.

TEAMFeed More Dolphins news from the Fansided Network

Hot on the Web From miamidolphins.com