Miami Dolphins By The Numbers: 23

We are getting deeper in our search for the “All-Numbers” team here on  So where are we as of today?  Let’s look at who you, the readers and fans have selected for each number and then we will jump into number 23.

1:  Garo Yepremian

2:  Brandon Fields

3:  Jay Feely

4:  Reggie Roby

5:  Dan Carpenter

6:  Pat White (still don’t understand this one but hey, you voted)

7:  Chad Henne – this one was our closest vote so far.  One vote made the difference.

8:  Matt Moore

9:  Jay Fiedler

10:  Don Strock

11:  Jim Jensen

12:  Bob Griese

13:  Dan Marino

14:  Brian Griese

15:  Earl Morrall

16:  David Woodley

17:  Ryan Tannehill

18: Rishard Mathews

19:  Brandon Marshall

20:  Larry Seiple

21:  Jim Kiick

22:  Mercury Morris

Today we give you the number 23.  The number has been worn by 15 different players throughout Miami Dolphins history.  The latest is RB Mike Gillislee.  Prior to Gillislee, Wes Mathews wore it in 1966, Charles Leigh wore it in 1973 and 74, Joe Carter donned the 23 from 1984 – 1986, in 1987 replacement player Demetrious Johnson wore the number, Robert Bailey wore it in 1996, George Teague in 1997, Larry Johnson in 2011 as did Steve Slaton in the same season, Troy Nolan wore it in 2012 as did Bryan McCann.

Then there are the popular names.  Ronnie Brown.  He wore the uniform as a former first round draft pick.  He wore it from 2005 to 2010.  Former Dolphins CB Patrick Surtain wore it from 1998 to 2004.  Troy Vincent wore the uniform from 1992 to 1995, and finally Troy Stradford wore the uniform in 1987 to 1990.  Stradford’s number was given to Demetrious Johnson when the players went on strike.  It’s not a clear cut and dry case of who wore it best.  Arguments could be made for Ronnie Brown, Troy Vincent, Patrick Surtain, and of course Troy Stradford.  You decide.

Who wore number 23 the best?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Next Dolphins Game Full schedule »
Sunday, Oct 2626 Oct1:00at Jacksonville JaguarsBuy Tickets

Tags: Miami Dolphins Patrick Surtain Ronnie Brown Troy Stradford Troy Vincent

comments powered by Disqus