Dec 15, 2013; Miami Gardens, FL, USA; Miami Dolphins safety Jimmy Wilson (27) reacts after breaking up a pass against the New England Patriots during the first half at Sun Life Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Steve Mitchell-USA TODAY Sports

Miami Dolphins By The Numbers: 26-29

The next few numbers in our series on “who wore the number best” doesn’t elicit a lot of top memories.  Some of the players had very good if short careers with the Miami Dolphins while others spent a little more time with the team but never really amounted to much more than a roster spot.  I will pose the numbers 26,27, and 28 to you but 29 I think we will all agree.

The number 26 is first up with Frank Jackson from 1966-67, Lloyd Mumphord wore it grin 1969-74 and had a terrific career with the Dolphins.  For one season Duriel Harris wore it in 1976 then Donovan Rose from 86-87 followed by Jarvis Williams from 1988 to 1993.  Bracey Walker had it one season in 1997, Lamar Smith wore it from 2000-2001, Leonard Henry from 2002-2004, Traveres Tillman from 2005-2007, and Lex Hilliard from 2009-2011.  Today the number is worn by RB Lamar Miller.


Number 26

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...



Moving on to 27!  Gary Tucker -1968, Gary Davis 76-79, Lorezno Hampton 85-89, Stevon Moore 1990, David Pool 1994, Terrell Buckley 1995-1999 & 2003, Arturo Freeman 2000 – 2002, Will Poole 04-05, Shirdonya Mitchell 2006, Lamont Thompson 2007, Samkon Gado 2007, Benny Sapp 2010-2011, and finally, Jimmy Wilson who wears it today.

Number 27

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...



28 gets a little more interesting, George Chesser 1966, Abner Haynes 67, Gene Milton 68-69, Ed Jenkins 72, Hubert Ginn 75, Don McNeal 1980-89, Michael McGruder 90-91, Frankie Smith 93, Gene Atkins 94-96, Ray Hill 98-00, Travis Minor 2002-2006, Jesse Chatman 2007, Brannon Condren 2008, Gibril Wilson 2009, and Nolan Carroll from 2010-2012.  Today the number is worn by Knowshon Moreno.

Number 28

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...


That brings us to number 29.  Jack Harper ins 1967 and 1968, Garry Grady in 69, Tom Smith in 73, John Swain in 85, Liffort Hobley from 87-93, Frankie Smith from 94-95, Andre’ Goodman in 2006, Travis Daniels 2007, Tyrone Culver in 2008-2011, and Jonathan Amaya in 2012.  Today it’s worn by Will Davis.

I was thinking that of all the names from number 29 Liffort Hobley likely would have worn it best.  Unfortunately for him the number was also worn by Sam Madison from 1997-2005 and I think we all can agree that Mr. Miami Dolphin Sam Madison wore it best.  Madison to this day remains a vibrant part of both the Dolphins history and their present and serves on the Dolphins internet show, The Finsiders, as one of the hosts.

Next Dolphins Game Full schedule »
Sunday, Nov 22 Nov1:00San Diego ChargersBuy Tickets

Tags: Miami Dolphins Sam Madison

comments powered by Disqus