Miami Dolphins By The Numbers: 11To 14


Another number that should be a runaway for one player.  Number 11 has been worn by nine different players starting with Rick Norton from 1966 – 1969.  Jim Del Gaizo wore the number in 1972 and again in 1975.  Dan McGwire wore it in 1995 and Damon Huard wore it from 1997 to 2000.  Bill Gramatica had it for one year in 2004 as did Gus Frerotte in 2005 and Julius Pruitt in 2011.

Those listed above however do not come close to who wore it best.  In time, maybe Mike Wallace earns this spot but it’s hard to give the nod to Wallace after last season, his first in Miami.  Especially when most fans even fans who weren’t old enough to watch him play, still knows that number 11 belongs to Jim Jensen.

Jensen was the jack-of-all-trades for the Dolphins.  He played WR, TE, RB, and even QB.  He played special teams and if given the opportunity he would likely have played on defense too.  Jensen wasn’t just a utility player.  He was very good at all of the positions he played which exemplified his contributions to the team.  Jensen wore the uniform from 1981 to 1992.

Number 12

There is no way you can debate the number 12.  Miami Dolphins Hall of Fame QB Bob Griese is the only player to have ever worn the uniform number.  He did so from 1967 until 1980.  Griese took Miami to three Super Bowl’s and has his number retired.

Number 13

I thought about the debate here.  Jake Scott who wore the jersey from 1970 to 1975 is a long time fan favorite and a Super Bowl MVP.  He unfortunately had the onus of sharing his number with Dan Marino who wore it from 1983 to 1999.  While I originally intended to poll these two the reality is that no matter how many votes Jake Scott would receive, and he would receive a few, Dan Marino is Mr. Miami Dolphin and frankly, you could argue that Marino wore his jersey better than any player in Dolphins history.

Number 14

It wouldn’t be right to leave you with three set in stone “who wore it best” winners without having at least one poll.  So we will add 14 here and let her run.  In 1987 Scott Stankavich wore the uniform as a replacement player during the strike.  Doug Pederson wore the uniform in 1993.  While Scott Zolak wore it in 1999.  Bob’s son Brian Griese, remember him?  Wore the uniform number in 2003 during his one year stint with the Dolphins.  Kendall Newsome wore the uniform  from 2004 to 2005.  Marlon Moore wore it from 2010 to 2012.  Today, the number has been handed to 2nd round draft pick Jarvis Landry.

It should be noted that Doug Pederson, now the Kansas City Chiefs offensive coordinator has one claim to fame.  He was the QB who led the Miami Dolphins to victory over the Philadelphia Eagles in 1993 winning Don Shula his 325th career victory.  I actually own his game worn jersey from that season but alas I have no idea what game it was worn in.  So I will lie and say that one!  Big Smile!

While not exciting by any means, hopefully Landry can make the number far more significant.