Miami Dolphins history; John Denney joining the elite

Miami Dolphins long snapper John Denney is about to become one of the Dolphins elite historical players.

On Sunday we took a look at what players the Miami Dolphins might induct into the Walk of Fame on Tuesday. That led through some intriguing historical statistics that we tend to forget about. Like length of service. Like John Denney.

In this day and age of football, staying with one team for an entire career is rare. Even some of the best players in the league abandon ship before they ever get a chance to sign a new contract extension and more uncommon are the third and fourth contracts.

Quarterbacks typically last longer than other players but even Peyton Manning didn’t play out his career with the Colts and Drew Brees began his in San Diego. Looking back through some of the players with double-digit seasons in Miami was pretty amazing. Not all played their entire careers with the Dolphins but the longevity is still impressive.

With the start of the 2018 season now just over a month and a half away, long snapper John Denney is going to continue his historic career as he enters his 14th season with the Miami Dolphins. Three seasons from tying Dan Marino‘s for longest player in franchise history.

When Denney walks onto the field for the first game of the 2018 season he will join some elite company. Only two players in Dolphins history will have had more seasons logged in than Denney once he season starts. Here are the only players with more than ten seasons.

10 seasons

Dick Anderson – 68-77,  Bob Baumhower – 77-86,  Doug Betters – 78-87, Mark Clayton – 83-92, Jeff Dellenbach – 85-94, Norm Evans – 66-75, Jon Giesler – 79-88, Jim Langer – 70-79, Paul Langford – 82-91, Ronnie Lee – 79-82 and 84-89, Olindo Mare – 97-06, Don McNeil – 80-89, Earnie Rhone – 75-84, Reggie Roby – 83-92, and Tim Ruddy 94-03.

11 seasons

Tim Bowens – 94-04, Mark Duper 82-92, Tim Foley – 70-80, Larry Seiple 67-77, Howard Twilley – 66-76, Richmond Webb – 909-00.

12 seasons

Vern Den Herder – 71-82, Bruce Hardy – 78-89, Jim Jensen – 81-92, Larry Little – 69-80, Ed Newman – 73-84, Zach Thomas – 97-07.

13 seasons

Nat Moore – 74-86, Jason Taylor – 97-07 and 09 and 11

14 seasons

Bob Griese – 67-80, Don Strock – 74-87

15 seasons

Bob Kuechenberg – 70-84

17 seasons

Dan Marino – 83-99

Note: Information for dates of service were sourced from the 2017 Miami Dolphins media guide.

Load Comments