NFL quarterback tiers going into 2022, where does Tua Tagovailoa land?

Mike Gesicki #88 and quarterback Tua Tagovailoa (Photo by Michael Reaves/Getty Images)
Mike Gesicki #88 and quarterback Tua Tagovailoa (Photo by Michael Reaves/Getty Images) /
5 of 9
Ryan Tannehill
Ryan Tannehill #17 of the Tennessee Titans. (Photo by Wesley Hitt/Getty Images) /

Average QBs are similar in talent output to the tier before, but here you erase the common head-scratching mistake.

This is a shorter bracket, mainly since it’s an extension of the tier below just without the nasty mistakes. Don’t get me wrong this list has plenty of players that will do very questionable things on the football field, but it’s far less common.

Game managers have their place in the NFL and although they aren’t the best at it, they damn sure hold their own and don’t bring the worry of reckless play. Although Baker Mayfield does come with a bundle pack of reckless behavior.

Quarterback tier C – Average QBs:

  • Mac Jones – New England Patriots
  • Ryan Tannehill – Tennessee Titans
  • Baker Mayfield – Cleveland Browns (for now)*

The ceiling for these QBs has pretty much topped as well, even though Mac Jones is young this is what he is. Jones won’t be making any sort of crazy evolution into a generational talent. It is the fear many Dolphins fans have with Tua Tagovailoa.

The difference with Jones is that he was given all the tools from the get-go so it’s easier to make an accurate evaluation, while Tua Tagovailoa has been on an obstacle course with the Miami Dolphins.

All the QBs listed were given the tools to succeed, but we know what their ceiling is and we also know that the upside from here is not that high. If your team’s starting QB is listed here they can do some damage if the rest of the team is loaded.